Oh Soul, Heart, Body and Mind

Oh Wandering Soul, what do you ask of me?
To travel to lands far and wide, beautiful and fragrant, to be free,
and yet also to dig deep roots into fertile ground,
to say “yes” to someone to a place to a time longer than a year
or two and call that too freedom.

Oh Wildly Beating Heart and
raging River-Veins
who demand justice be my compass
who thump and cry out for change
and yet also sing to me to forget
to build my arc of fanciful books, music and joy
and weather life’s storm away
from the grasping thankless arms of the drowning
to sail to calmer seas

Oh tired youthful Body Bright,
you more than any
bid me quiet comfort care
bid me running rampant flare

Mind Oh spark of Divine Intelligence
You who raised my hand in grade-school
Who blessed me with infinite curiosity
poster-child A+ student
Where have you wandered off to?

Oh God my God my
sole resting place for twenty-five years
you distant changing tempered thing
creator of soul, heart, body, mind and all
You are more question than answer, I know
But holy shit I’d appreciate knowing where to go.

____________

No, I have no other comments on Columbus Day, no rant about what a stupid holiday it is to celebrate, no upbeat updates on the joys of community organizing. Have a good one, y’all.

About Magelette

I use too many parentheticals, tend towards run-on sentences, and am a terrible self-editor. That being said I'm honest to a fault and fairly easily enchanted, so if you're into that, read on.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

