Softness

So, I should really be writing part 2 of the Seed week reflection (a planned-for posting I have just been too busy to write down, but will!!) but in the meantime I just recently re-found a poem I wrote in October I felt like sharing. I don’t know why it feels worth sharing right now, but sometimes you have to go with instinct.

Softeness

Oct. 9, 2011

 It is the silk of newly-coppered hair through my fingers

and also the brief brush of a young cheek

I didn’t know a weeks ago

against mine

 

It is the smile I share with the homeless man

when neither of us are what we are,

only who, and it is the moment

when I neither forget nor remember you

 

It is the reaching and the having reached

my sweater under the sheets in the middle of the night

It is a shirt with no tags, a downhill walk

in the daytime with no bags

 

When given a false choice

I chose to be all hammer to avoid being nail

forgetting that most of what surrounds us is

billowing air

Because in the end

 

It is the softness that we seek

in this hard world

of ed-

ges.

About Magelette

I use too many parentheticals, tend towards run-on sentences, and am a terrible self-editor. That being said I'm honest to a fault and fairly easily enchanted, so if you're into that, read on.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Softness

  1. Jojo says:

    u are a talented lady and i am your biggest fan 🙂

  2. Nathan Toews says:

    Wonderful poem! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

