12 days till Medellin…

On Thursday I went to Col-Feria (artisans, food, music) with my host-lady Elizabeth and had a grand time. Yesterday, after spending ALL day hearing about MCC’s take on political advocacy a few of us went to a shisha bar and I then watched several episodes of Mad Men with Will (I’m addicted. It’s a fascinating show set in the 60’s that deals with gender relations and the corporate environment of the time), spent the night at Anna’s house since I didn’t want to take the Transmilenial an hour home just to turn around and come back in the morning. This morning I woke up and made devil’s food cake and then walked to the Simon Bolivar park for an MCC farewell to SEED picnic.

After eating far too much chocolate cakes of various types, climbing a tree, and getting smacked in the face by a soccer ball, we went back to Leonel’s house to play some cards and watch part of the France/Mexico game. I escaped to go get coffee with Ana and Larisa before the tragic end of the game (3-1 for Mexico) and then returned to once again watch Mad Men. One hour later I’m finally sitting in bed while Colombian music is literally pounding through my door. (It’s an interesting cultural phenomenon that even just hanging out with 2 friends the music is usually far louder than I would ever have it)

It’s been 2 months to the day since our little team of young peace builders landed in Bogota. There are things I love, like the french bakery around the corner of the office, cooking with friends, dragon fruit and the Colombian nose-scrunch that means “What?”. There are things I don’t love that I’ve learned to manage, like the weather and the continually-overcrowded Transmilenio system. And Bogota is not all of Colombia, not even close, but it’s all I’ve known of Colombia so far.

It has also been 2 months since our team has been our team (or rather, 2 months and a week. There are things I love, like Carolina’s “chistes”, Daniela’s laugh, Anna and Leonel’s absurd comments and even Will’s utter indignation whenever he mishears anything. (And so, so, so much more) There are things I don’t love that I’ve mostly learned to manage, like the general disinterest in dancing. And this group is not the be all and end all of community, coworkers or friendship, but they’re all I’ve known in Colombia so far.

In 12 days I’m finally moving to my final placement in Medellin. As our day-long sessions and week-long themes draw to a close this week I find myself relieved with the idea of not having to sit 8 hours a day on the same couch, of finally having my own space, of starting some of the work I’ve come here to do (even as the specifics remain vague. Stay posted, we’re apparently getting a break-down on Monday), and of landing in the city of “eternal springtime”. I also find myself more than a little heartbroken to think of not seeing these 11 friends of mine every day most of the day, and of having to re-make my entire social circle over again (again). My father wisely told me at my EMU graduation party, upon seeing me quite distraught at the ending of such a sweet time of life, that the pain now was part of the joy then. It’s good to remember that now– if it is difficult to think of this ending, it is because this group has become what it was intended to be, a safe support base, and life-long friends.

Please pray that this next week we would all be able to make the most of the time we have left together, be grateful for the friendships we’ve built, and that as all 10 Seeders (and 2 co-leaders) head on to the next step of this program we be able to bond quickly with our communities and start doing the best, most loving, most justice-y, and Christ-centered work we can.

About Magelette

I use too many parentheticals, tend towards run-on sentences, and am a terrible self-editor. That being said I'm honest to a fault and fairly easily enchanted, so if you're into that, read on.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 12 days till Medellin…

  1. Judy says:

    Love and blessings as you prepare for the next step! Good to read your reflections.

  2. Kaitlin Heatwole says:

    According to your grammar, everyone got hit in the face with a soccer ball.

    Somehow, I doubt that that is true.

    (snarky post)

    • I just noticed that myself…I’m choosing to leave it because if you think of the act as simultaneous, it’s a lot funnier. The real version is that Will, apparently, got fed up with being teased and decided to send the ball wailing at my glasses-on-face. Lol.

  3. Kaitlin Heatwole says:

    I’m so excited for you to actually jump into Medellin and start! And what your dad said is oh so true.

    (sincere post)

Leave a Reply

