Puting some faces to the issues…

Back so soon? Why, yes.

I think you’ve probably had enough of my commentating and synthesizing of realities here in Colombia, it’s time you hear it from the folks living the consequences of these policies and politics I’ve been talking about for the past couple of months.

As you watch these videos try to keep present the following question: What is the role of the Church given this story/situation? What power do I have (as an American citizen, a person with resources, etc) to move this reality in another direction?

With no further ado here are some videos (no reading!) on: (I deeply apologize I can’t yet get the videos to just be here, but you can click the youtube link!)

The Free Trade Agreement between the US and Colombia
youtube link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Ny3C3d-ToI&feature=player_embedded
original source: The US office on Colombia, http://www.usofficeoncolombia.org/
length: 6:41

Multinationals/paramilitaries and displacement<strong

youtubelink: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dh5s20v8UGw&feature=player_embedded#at=635
original source: Witness for Peace, http://www.witnessforpeace.org/article.php?id=1027
length: 11:25

I also want to point out I have added a whole bunch of resources/solidarity groups to my side-bar which I hope you will be able to at least scan so as to know what resources are out there. You’ll find NGO’s working on advocacy and lobbying in the United States, think-tanks and experts’ articles about current events, scholarship and activism on drug policy, videos, statistics, stories, and much more.

I will certainly continue to add to this list and hopeful differentiate groups (by church affiliation or other, types of resources, etc) as we continue on this journey together. Please do not be overwhelmed—mostly I want to show the network of folks working on these issues and the various perspectives and paradigms within the peace movement as an encouragement to those of us committed to that goal.

About Magelette

I use too many parentheticals, tend towards run-on sentences, and am a terrible self-editor. That being said I'm honest to a fault and fairly easily enchanted, so if you're into that, read on.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

