Made it to Managua Managua: MCC orientation begins!

Buenas noches amigos y amigas!
Just a quick note to let you all know I arrived safe and sound in Nicaragua. It was a relatively uneventful trip (although we strangely enough had priority seating which was cool) and have now gradually grown from Will, Larisa and I, to us and our two other North American team mates, to all 10 of us SEED participants. We have a New Yorker, a Yukon lady, three folks from Bogota, a woman from Peru, and a guy from a German Mennonite colony in Mexico (so Spanish isn’t his first language either, German is, but he’s totally fluent in it and English as well.)

I’m realizing how hare-brained I sound in Spanish, but everyone has been extremely nice and chevere/vacan (translation: cool). My favorite mistake so far was when discussing what kinds of steak we like and Will tried to say “medium rare” by saying he liked his steaks “medio raro” which means “a little strange”.

One thing we all have in common so far: we don’t really know much. How do we get money? How do we get cell phones? What are our addresses? What are our specific job descriptions? Who knows? No one seems overly concerned but there’s great hope that this week of orientation will clear many a thing up. We have breakfast at 7:30am and devotions at 8:30am tomorrow so I’m going to hit the hay. Or rather, the coverless bed I’m on right now (who needs covers when it’s hot?) I have to say, it’s been a long time since I’ve been to any kind of devotional thing…I’m kind of excited!

About Magelette

I use too many parentheticals, tend towards run-on sentences, and am a terrible self-editor. That being said I'm honest to a fault and fairly easily enchanted, so if you're into that, read on.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Made it to Managua Managua: MCC orientation begins!

  1. Yay! So glad you guys made it!
    ~Bethany

Leave a Reply

